276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Keeper of Lost Things

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

First off I must be honest even though I was excited to read The Keeper Of Lost Things I was however a bit worried it was going to be a bit depressing but how wrong I was! I studied English and Drama at Goldsmiths College which was brilliant, but then I came home and got a 'proper' job. I loved the slow unfolding of this story as we learn how both timelines intersect in such a touching and almost unexpected way. When he finds items left behind, lost, he brings them home in the hopes that he may reunite them with the person who is missing them.

I loved the characters in this, even the snooty Portia, and especially Sunshine, and Anthony’s story, wonderful, but heartbreaking. After agonizing for what feels like an eternity, I end up hauling five or six with me, so that way I can have a much more manageable struggle once I arrive at my destination.Not to be forgotten, is Freddy, the hunky gardener who allows Laura to think of love again, and Carrot, the mistreated stray dog, who knows that he is loved and safe, in his new home. Eunice leaves a dead end job and takes an exciting one in publishing with a witty and charismatic boss. What makes this one good are the details such as stories about the lost objects and Laura's friendship with a neighbourhood girl.

This mystical and spiritual tale is a joyous read that will broaden your imagination and warm your heart - OK! She is curious by what is behind his office door but knows Anthony will have a perfectly good reason for doing so. She was once lost, herself, but Anthony helped her to reunite with her true self, and not the one others had tried to form her to be. When chemo kept me up all night I passed the time writing and the eventual result was THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS, my first novel, which was published in January 2017, and has now been selected as a Richard and Judy Book Club pick. But, like objects, people do not stay around forever, and Anthony eventually leaves this ongoing quest in the capable hands of his caretaker, Laura, who appears equally as “lost” as his beloved objects.The style of writing was enjoyed by the readers , it was just the storylines that left people feeling confused and irritated, though we felt it got better towards the second half of the book - even if it did end a bit too conveniently.

Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, Masha's life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. It was going well, but then in 2012 I got cancer, which was bloody inconvenient but precipitated an exciting hair journey from bald to a peroxide blonde Annie Lennox crop. WE’RE ALL JUST WAITING TO BE FOUND…An irresistible debut novel of lost objects and second chances, in the vein of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Rosie Project. When I thought of The Keeper of Lost Things, I had in mind the imagination of Neil Gaiman, almost a fantasy point of view, where I could dream up a story for each of the lost items, go on an adventure with the characters.But once I got the hang of it, especially the back stories on some of the lost items, it clipped along at a nice pace. I studied English and Drama at Goldsmiths College, University of London where I hennaed my hair, wore dungarees and generally had an amazing time. This experience is a charming and gently moving journey into finding oneself and exploring the hidden meaning behind seemingly random items. The primary storyline is modern day and revolves around Laura, an assistant to aging author Anthony Peardew.

Interspersed throughout we have entrancing and shocking tales of some of the lost items, and the various situations that the owners found themselves in. And so it was that he began to gather other people's lost things; gather them in and keep them safe, just in case one day, one of them could mend a broken heart, and thus redeem a broken man. Add the ancillary characters who were only there to move the plot and by the time the ghost (yes, ghost) came in I was pretty much done. Meanwhile, the best character of this novel, Sunshine, starts out strong but then becomes downsized to comic relief in the later chapters of the book.

There is another couple whose story starts the day Anthony's fiance dies, all those years earlier, and their platonic love is just as strong as the love Anthony and his late fiance had for each other. She then added more than a few eccentrics, a feisty spirit and a sweet innocent by the name of Sunshine whom you will come to love, and gave us a story brimming with wit, wisdom and charm galore. It brings lots of tears, laughs and smiles, which probably made lots of folks on the trail I walk wonder what was going on with me. Now, with her own end drawing near, she has lost something precious—a tragic twist of fate that forces her to break a promise she once made.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment