276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

It is an easy to read cozy mystery with a good pace but as in the first book, there was some unnecessary filler, which made it drag a little in places. The first half of the novel, where members of the school staff start receiving poison pen letters I enjoyed, it built itself up very well but unfortunately I feel that the second half just deflated, there was barely any mystery to solve and overall I felt it was very underwhelming. I have to admit, I got a little bit confused at the start of the book between Linda and Liz, Pat and Jan, but I soon got them all straightened out as the story (and characters) developed. This instalment was a little busy with characters for me but the saving grace was the narrator Julie Hesmondhalgh. The ingredients for the perfect modern cosy crime: intrigue, characters you care about and a good dollop of humour' Ian Moore, author of Death and Croissants ?

This was my first entry into the world of retired school, teachers, Liz, Pat and Thelma, and although I hadn’t read the first case I didn’t feel that I was left behind ( I’ll be catching up with that one as soon as possible).

Bought it because I quite like 'cosy murders' without the violent details that many crime books have but I must say it just dragged on and on with waffling about the people and the letters that after about half an hour into the book I had no idea who was who and who was doing what to whom, and why etc. I understand he's from Yorkshire, but it does show some short sightedness to seem to assume your audience is from your geographical region.

perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club and Robert Thorogood Curious white envelopes have been delivered to friends and neighbours. Malice and mayhem spur a school reunion of three modern Marples – and some of their Thirsk community learn a lesson they’ll never forget ! The background story of this and the previous book was very good but I felt the characters lacked depth.This story dragged about someone writing pen letters in the school that the ladies used to teach in. The staff there have been receiving poison pen letters and the ladies have to work hard to solve the mystery. A great read for anyone involved in modern day education by an author who knows his onions about schools and the mysterious ways they have evolved. This time our unlikely heroines meet with the vagaries of school academisation and encounter a spate of poison pen letters, which have unintended consequences for those who become involved. as well as the summary on the back ("one by one, careers are ended, marriages destroyed") of the book are a bit misleading.

Much of the book is spent describing the friends' too many home responsibilities and worries about their husbands and the men's jobs, so the book took longer to take off for me. This book is set in a town in Yorkshire with three retired primary school teachers Liz, Pat and Thelma as the main characters.There’s an underlying theme of change that ties in neatly with the ‘under new management’, as the retired ladies struggle to accept difference in the education environment since they were working there and also struggle with changes in their home lives – each of Thelma, Liz and Pat having some version of marital problems going on in the background of their reluctant investigation. If you’re looking for cozy mystery books then definitely pick up this series, you won’t be disappointed.

Retired schoolteachers Liz, Pat and Thelma are back at their usual table at the Thirsk Garden Centre café with a brand-new mystery to solve? Retired schoolteachers Liz, Pat and Thelma never expected they would be caught up in a crime even once in their lives, let alone twice. One of them is also vehemently against the idea of being a governor at the school and then two pages later is agreeing to the job. I'm struggling to finish it but that's only because I haven't had time to download another few more books on my kindle. It turned out that I guessed the guilty party early on, but I’m still pleased with how the mystery plot played out, as it included numerous surprises.It had a lot to say about educational system, where nowadays it is way more about the business side of things and money and not about children. Particularly I liked how they were shown to be such good friends yet they keep so much from each other.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment